Clark:My Proposal

shonda rhimes   Mara Brock Akil

After looking into Shonda Rhimes (on the left) sitcoms such as “How to Get Away with Murder”, “Scandal” and Greys Anatomy and her vision of women in the spotlight I decided to look into another woman who has another insight for women. Mara Brock Akil (on the right) is a television writer and producer who received a bachelor’s degree in journalism from North Western University. She created TV sitcoms like “Girlfriends”, “The Game” and her latest show “Being Mary Jane”. Girlfriends and the Game were situation comedies that deal with a group of women who share the same environment but have different characteristics. Being Mary Jane on the other hand focus more on the struggle of being a single black women. I propose doing research on both Shonda Rhimes and Mara Brock Akil sitcoms because they both are making a statement and breaking barriers for Black Women and typical female characters. They both made great shows that keep the audience thirsty for more and they clearly have similar statistics for black women. I want to examine their shows like we did with “How to” and see what all I come up with. I didn’t want to go into much detail about the shows because I felt I would be giving too much detail. I hope this was enough to get my point across.

Leave a Reply

